I do not want money. I do not want to be rich! I want to be wealthy.

I think there is a distinct difference between pursuing money and acquiring money. Those pursuing are always chasing the buck. Perhaps once achieving it, pursuing even more of it once needs are filled. However, acquiring has more purpose. It’s a qualifiable gain, a goal that can be realized and has a limit. I want to acquire wealth*. Wealth to me is peace of mind, a state of Zen so to speak. I have peace of mind in knowing I don’t owe anyone else money, that I don’t cringe every time I swipe my card and wonder how much limit I have.It’s pride of ownership; that I can take a look around my modest belongings and know that these are wholly mine because of my hard work. Pursuing money, I see, as having things that you bought with greedy ambition. Dressing, acting and believing (read pretending) you have ‘wealth’. Simply, I equate pursuing money with greed.

What compelled me to start this first entry was a television program:The Millionaire Inside on CNBC. I watched it for the first time last Monday and really enjoyed it. It has the feel of a motivational financial seminar with a panel of 4 millionaire mentors. So I decided to give it another try this week. What I didn’t realize was that one of the mentors is Robert Kiyosaki, widely known for his best seller “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”. Ah, this sounds familiar. I had just been reading The Simple Dollar blog archives where the writer decided to read 52 financial books in 52 weeks. I had read his reviews on “The Millionaire Next Door”, “The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom”, “The Total Money Makeover”, “The Money Book for the YB&F” and “Mad Money”. Next in line was indeed “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”. During the commercial break, I rushed upstairs to check out what The Simple Door had to say. What I found was a horrible review and critique of Kiyosaki’s persona. I returned to the program and tried to remain objective. However, the mentors kept using the word ‘rich’. This was grating my nerves. They kept stating how when they were young, they would watch the ‘rich people’, go to the ‘rich people’s’ houses’, learned from them how to make money. They all had a desire to amass things. But I can’t help but wonder by what definition were these ‘rich people’ rich. Did they appear rich? Were they pursuing the dollar? Or had they actually acquired wealth? I don’t think these mentors, as children, had a true grasp on what ‘rich’ was. Typically, true millionaires don’t have lavish houses or brand new cars. But these mentors do. Ironically, the show’s title is the Millionaire Inside. Inside who? Certainly not them. I soon left the living room and returned to the office where I could still listen in but yet continue reading up. Ultimately, I think that is the last time I will watch that show. I do think it had some good advice but it seems highly propagandized.

* Wealth from the old English word “weal”, which means “well-being” or “welfare” Definition from Wikipedia: “’Wealth refers to some accumulation of resources, whether abundant or not. ‘Richness’ refers to an abundance of such resources. Rich is having lots of money or financial assets; not a synonym to wealth, as that encompasses many other areas of life.

