This is a pretty aggressive goal. Especially considering, I’ve been wanting/planning/trying to lose weight for over a year now. Even with all the willing I did, I didn’t lose the first pound. But this time I feel like I’ve got all the keys I need for success. I have the motivation, will power, means, and knowledge to do so.

A friend of mine was just in town, who I will be seeing again in 10 weeks time. She and I both would like to lose 30 pounds but in an effort to set realistic goals (the first key to weight loss), our new goal will be 20 pounds. Being a competitive type person, this was just the motivation I needed. A race to lose the most weight!

My interest is not just in dieting, I’m looking for a life style change. I have absolutely no interest in looking skinny for a few months only to put it back on because my self-control gave out at the sight of chocolate. I’m looking forward to leading a healthier lifestyle, eating right and getting enough exercise. I have a history of breast cancer in my family and research has shown over-weight people are more likely to develop cancer while those with a good body mass index, who exercise regularly lower their chances of getting this disease.

While having a sleek appearance is a nice benefit, this not my goal. I want to be a healthy size for me. I’d like to get back to fitting in my cute clothes now that my ‘fat’ clothes don’t fit anymore either.

I plan on making some pretty radical changes all at once to jump-start my weight loss. I have an entire medicine cabinet full of vitamins just waiting to be swallowed. A new gym just opened its doors 1.5 miles from my house. And why do I end up ordering take-out when my fridge is bursting at its seams?

My itinerary:

  1. Take all necessary vitamins
  2. Work out 6 times a week
  3. Cook healthy meals for dinner.

How will I accomplish this? I’ve got my weekly pill case filled with each of the vitamins I should take each day. My husband and I have decided on a set time to work out every day, rain or shine. I have sat down and written out a menu for the month so we avoid having to make a decision about dinner at 7pm and opting for the easiest, least messy solution. Another side benefit will be all the money I’ll save from actually cooking my meals instead of eating out. I’m not very good at journaling, but I think keeping a food journal along with my daily workouts will be another source of motivation. Let’s face it, I can’t very well write down that I had half…okay a whole…tube of cookie dough.

According to Dr. Weil, it takes 8 weeks for a new routine to become a habit. So with a little focus, an end-goal motivation and daily moral support, and the mere fact I’m actually writing about it here, I have little room for failure lest my pride be lost.

First weigh-in: 160 lbs.

