In a challenge to lose 20 pounds in 10 weeks, my competitor has already reportedly lost 9 pounds! I, on the other hand, have managed to gain 4 pounds! With two weeks passed since we began our little challenge, I felt as though I was doing everything right. Reading a new book I received, YOU on a Diet by Dr. Oz, I’ve followed all the instruction therein. Eating a high fiber breakfast, a health snack mid-morning, a balanced lunch and dinner as well as hitting the gym at least 5 times a week.

I found noteworthy that the book mentioned that those who eat at least one meal the same everyday will lose 6 pounds more than their counterparts who eat equally healthy but varying meals.

Surprisingly, it has not been difficult eating the same breakfast and lunch everyday for two weeks. A 100% whole wheat English muffin with all natural peanut butter, along with a cafe con leche, serves as my breakfast. Followed by a mid-morning snack of yogurt. I thought eating the same meal would be boring, but I haven’t gotten tired of it yet. In fact, I’ve been craving it in the mornings now. I’m able to stay full throughout most of the day and don’t become a ravenous pig stuffing my face with whatever (bad) food is in sight.

For dinner, my husband and I have substituted pasta or rice with a vegetable. This, too, was a surprisingly easy transition and we realized we didn’t even miss the unhealthy carbs.

I’ve found the key is taking the guess work out of what to eat. With planned meals, you most likely will choice healthier options. This makes grocery shopping easier and helps with creating and adhering to a grocery budget. I have about 14 meals choices that my husband and I alternate between over the course of 2 weeks.

As for my 4 pound weight gain, I’m hoping it’s muscle gain. I’ve been going to the gym about 5 times a week mixing both cardio and weight training. Apart from the scale reading, I do feel smaller around the waist and few people have even asked if I’ve lost weight. I’m determined not to be disappointed by the number on the scale but focus on how I feel and the satisfaction of knowing I’m leading a healthier lifestyle.

