Just before I toss out my older magazine issues into the recycle bin, I always flip through to make sure there wasn’t anything I missed. Instead of saving the whole magazine, I’ve begun just tearing out the pages that interest me and keeping them in a notebook. Doing this also aids in keeping the clutter down in my home. Gathering up my recycle pile, I came across an old issue of Shape magazine, April 2007, and a great article on an A- Z guide of actions we can take today to protect the planet and our health. Here’s is a condensed version of some their ideas:

A-buy an Apple computer and they will recycle your old one

B-choose Biodegradable products and packaging whenever possible

C- replace bulbs with Compact Fluorescent Lightbulb’s (CFL)

F-buy Fair Trade Certified Coffee harvested humanely and often organically

I- Idealbite.com daily e-tips about living an eco-friendly lifestyle

L- Ladybugs comsume 50 plant-eating aphids daily, eliminating your need for pesticides

P- Plant trees

R- Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

T- buy a programmable Thermostat, save $100 on utilitiy’s annually

U-Unplug appliances and electronics when not in use

Z- Zero-gas transport, bike, walk or skate

